Danaus Plexippus

Danaus Plexippus, or the Monarch Butterfly, is one of the best-known American butterflies. Easily recognizable for its orange and black coloring, it is famous for its southern migration and northward return.”

In the last week or so, I have noticed more and more Monarch Butterflies hanging around where I live. I usually see them when I am on lunch duty at the school I work at. I might see one or two casually floating by as if it is out for a leisurely float without a care in the world. I don’t ever recall seeing them when I lived in Great Lakes State even though it is in the middle of their northern migration path. I remember seeing a film at school as a young child about the southern migration of these butterflies, and how whole forests of trees would be covered in Monarchs.

I think the Monarch migration can be a sign of fall that I’m missing in Southern Great Plains State. We’re halfway to November and the leaves here are still largely green; any color that I see is usually brown because instead of changing color, the leaves here just go straight to dead-brown and fall off. I miss the vibrant yellows, oranges, and reds of the maple trees. Maybe seeing the occasional Monarch butterfly can be my orange and tell me that fall is on the way.

This entry was posted in Animal, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

